“What if you’re not broken?”

I once believed that I needed someone to save me.

First a best friend.
Then a boyfriend.
Then my therapist.

But, it never worked.

Eventually I came across a quote that said:
“you need to save yourself because no one is coming.”

Aha…I thought.

I just have to be on own hero and save myself.

I read books, journaled, meditated, did yoga, ran, lit candles, used essential oils.

Nothing.

I dug deep into personal finance, productivity, “lifestyle” changes, vision boards…and more therapy.

But, you guessed it.

That never worked either.

If I’m honest, it treated a lot of the symptoms…

But, I still felt broken.

Then one day, while scrolling through yet another podcast, I came across one called:

“What if you’re not broken?”

And, it planted a seed.

After what has been a YEAR and then some, the question finally sunk in.

I’m not broken.

I never was.

I don’t need to be fixed by a friend, boyfriend, a therapist or myself.

Does that mean everything is good?

Of course not. I still live in this dumpster fire that we all share.

But, it’s this dumpster fire that made me think I wasn’t enough.

This world sent me spiraling between depressive moods, anxious thoughts, and disorder eating.

This world has thrown racism, sexism, classism and all the isms into my face.

For the first time, one of my favorite quotes makes a hell of a lot more sense



“The world may be broken, but hope is not crazy.”

The world is broken, not me.

Just because I don’t look, act, sound or perform the way the world wants or expects, doesn’t mean that I wasn’t born enough.

We’re all good enough and then the world teaches us to doubt that about ourselves.

So, you, also are not broken.

Even when your mind tells you that you are, or your stupid boyfriend, or the world.

The reason all the changes you’ve tried aren’t working is because there is nothing to fix.

We can always grow. And we will.

But flowers grow…we don’t consider them broken when they’re just seeds.

We don’t consider babies broken.

The only difference is that they haven’t been taught to hate themselves, and we have.

So dear, if no one has said it today, you are not broken.

You, like all of us, deserve to love and be loved.

-Rule

One thought on ““What if you’re not broken?”

Leave a comment